Poets logo

Wind & Soul

Soul Soothing Journey

By Marysol RamosPublished 5 months ago Updated 3 months ago 4 min read
1
Picture by Ideogram

Soul Soothing Journey

Wind & Soul

I sat on a dark wooden rocking chair that was on the porch of a friend’s house. My friend called me over for breakfast after I sent her a message saying I was having trouble holding on. When I arrived, I walked through the front door and she embraced me in her arms. I felt a genuine love pour out of her and directly into me. The warmth of this love caused me to melt in her arms. Nothing had changed in life; at the same time it felt like all had changed in life. She walked to a table at the center of her living room and picked up a teacup. She placed it in my hands and the warmth of the cup reminded me of the hug she’d just shared with me. Her hands settled around mine as they held the teacup, she then said,

“Who you are is enough, and for these struggles you’re not to blame. Yes, the world holds much power, but there’s also much power in your name. And though we’re not entitled, deserving, or angelic — we were designed for more than the criteria this world has created. You weren’t designed for these worries, fights, or messes; you were designed by the hand of God for a purpose beyond these stresses. So, introduce yourself to the wind, the flowers, and the trees; remind your heart and soul that you were meant to be free. Free to not have it all, free to cry and fall, free to follow passions without rewards for it all. Free to sing a song without having an ideal voice, free to write a poem without having the perfect word choice. Free to fall apart and free to stand back up, free to fight against a world whose standards are corrupt. Free to sit in a rocking chair and allow your soul to be, sit back against the rocking chair and allow your soul to be free.”

I walked outside to breathe in a sense of liberation, which worked its way to the tip of my toes, the tip of my fingers, and to the tip-top of my head. I placed the ceramic, egg-white teacup on the table next to the rocking chair and took in the sight of my friend’s magnificent garden. Enjoying the pace of the rocking chair and the cool breeze passing by my skin, I leaned my head back and closed my eyes to unwind in such a way where, for a moment in time, none of my troubles existed.

The wind began to wrap around me and gently found its way in, becoming one with the soul inside, and bringing it out toward the surface. Now my body rested on the rocking chair, while my soul was out and about, introducing itself to the earth and all that’s been created by God.

“Hello trees and flowers, hello dirt and wind, hello bees and grasshoppers, hello to all my friends. I am here to introduce myself, it’s not easy to explain, because the world is full of opinions that live amongst my brain. It recreates who I am, it taints the life within, it scratches at the heart I have, and fills my mind with sin.

Hello rocks and mushrooms, hello grass and bugs, hello birds and caterpillars, hello snails and slugs. I am here to introduce myself, it’s not easy, not at all. Sometimes all I can think about is the damage and the flaws. Sometimes I pull away and try hard not to care, but the opinions of those around me are undoubtedly always there. Sometimes they seem so true, I mean, look at the life around me. I try to live my purpose and passions, but the results all end so sadly.”

“When will it be enough?” I heard a critter ask.

“And tell us what’s the truth!”

“Why are the circumstances of your life the focus of your proof?”

“Why is your mind so tainted?”

“And why is who you are gone?”

“You’re having a hard time introducing yourself, because you’ve got yourself all wrong!”

“Then tell me who I am critters, because I haven’t got a clue.”

“That’s because you’re focused on measurements from a world that isn’t you. Rest with the wind and listen, rest within, and see, who you are has been disguised by the standards that you believe. Your circumstances don’t define you; your life results are not the proof. The way that others see you, is not the ultimate truth. You are not devalued by where you live, you’re not worthless because you’re not seen, your worth and value wouldn’t change if you had riches and lived your dream. Who you are is who we are, a creation come from God, who you are, would thrive afar, if the standards were rather odd. If riches would come from the flame of the passion, the excitement in heart, or the selfless reactions, from strength in the mind, and the vulnerability to care, from the desire to love others, and the effort to be fair, if riches would generate from who one is, you’d have an abundance of treasure and a wealthy life to live. Who you are is the wealth, who you are is the treasure, who you are is a light in the world without measure. Who you are my dear friend is a constant, who you are my dear love is a being, who you are, my dear creation, is a result of God's love and superior thinking.”

surreal poetrynature poetryMental Healthinspirational
1

About the Creator

Marysol Ramos

From Soul Soothing to Mysteries and Thrills. Take a few journeys with me through short stories that will either liven your soul or consume it with curiosity. Either way your mind takes a ride and your emotions are brought to life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.