Poets logo

Will that squirrel in my yard be my friend?

An imaginative story based on real life.

By Connor StermerPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

Look at that squirrel as it prances around and jumps through the grass of my yard. Curious you are but for what do you seek? Are you trying to find the nuts you have buried? Perhaps you've forgotten their whereabouts? It's sad to admit that I can be of no help with finding your nuts, but you seem all the kind and can have some of mine. You're always welcome to a taste of my nuts. A delectable crunch and that pleasant aroma as you pop my nuts in your mouth to enjoy. Please, let me share with you squirrel, it would make me the happiest. I have peanuts and cashews, brazil nuts and walnuts, what do you like? Are you a picky little fella? Or are you open to something new? Regardless, let me help. Come inside where its warm. Kick back with your paws up and stay awhile. Please make yourself at home. These are the things I would tell anyone to visit me. All of my friends I treat like this. Would you like to be my friend Mr. Squirrel? Oh, please Mr. Squirrel, would you oh please come inside and out of the cold? I can make you hot chocolate to dampen the chills and warm the soul. I fear you won't come. The snow will be here soon, and I fret you'll be off. You'll leave and go home and try to find all your nuts. Your paws will get cold when you try to find them and then you'll get frustrated if you can't find them. But they'll be buried so deep under that thick layered snow that you'd be digging for days at least just to find them. The perfect type of snow for snowballs, you might never get through. Maybe we can make an igloo together instead? I have always wanted to make an igloo with my friends and relax in it. Enjoy it while the cold weather lasts and keeps my ice home intact. It would be warm inside for you too and I can stock it with all your favorite nuts. But, alas, I must come to accept that none of this will be the case. You won't come inside to escape from the cold, and you will most certainly stay out there in search of your nuts. This sad yet true reality beseeches me, and I find it to be unfair. But this is just what I see when I look out the window and daydream.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Connor Stermer

I just want to make people smile.

https://www.instagram.com/connor.stermer/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Connor Stermer is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Become a pledged subscriber or send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.