Poets logo

Wild in Love

Ode to old love

By Vivian R McInernyPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
4
AI image generated with NightCafe

You hold up the wall

with your lean back, and a grin

that says, I know how good I look here

in the dim gray dusk,

slim and hale and raw,

hat brim bent low. The full head tilt.

And that gaze,

true as a stag

in the wild,

but with a beer in hand.

I nod. I’ve seen this play. I know this act.

My cue to exit. I turn away. You and your sham free ways

won’t work on me.

Yet,

here you are in the pale dawn of morn, that same face,

calm and tame,

sly eyes

that even when shut, seem to wink

at our love over and over and over.

love poems
4

About the Creator

Vivian R McInerny

A former daily newspaper journalist, now an independent writer of essays & fiction published in several lit anthologies. The Whole Hole Story children's book was published by Versify Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2021. More are forthcoming.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Awww, this was so wonderful! I loved it!

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    This is soooo lovely. A complete love story! I adore how you did this. The ending is perfect, and I want to keep reading it over and over.

  • Gigi Gibson10 months ago

    Excellent visuals here Vivian! You might want to replace the five-letter word “snort”, but otherwise it’s perfect!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.