Poets logo

Wild child

Who gives AF, take you back

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Wild child
Photo by Caleb Woods on Unsplash

I wish I was that kid again the one with the crazy laugh.

With messed up hair

I didn’t care if Id ever take a bath.

Doing anything I had to do to Keep up with the boys

I didn’t want to be a girl.

I didn’t make that choice

When did that innocence go away

why did I let it go

Why can’t I like myself like that

for who I am, ya know

The freedom to be who you want

It seemed so easy then

I wish I could go back and tell that kid

dont ever let them win

Keep Running through a room with your hands straight up in the air

You can wait to brush your teeth and wash and comb your hair.

laugh and joke and play all day

stay out until the moon.

don’t give that piece of you away

or grow up way too soon

giggle over silly things

share everything with love

Don’t judge somebody else by the stuff you think they have

.

It’s when you question your self worth

your self esteem, will take a beating

I forgot everything I knew

Took their truths and made a new me

And it seems their always wanting more

something else to make you new,

Until you barely recognize

That reflection there, is YOU

But I’m still her, that little girl,

hidden inside this body that let me down.

not that picture in a magazine

Everyone wants to be around

you know, that’s ok, because I never really was

I remember a day I didn’t care

I was happy with WHO I was.

Id do anything life would dare

Now today I look at me

and curl my nose with disgust

I want to be that seven year old

Filled with wonder lust

Have I killed her yet, is she long gone, can I still find that little girl?

Make her proud of who I am

together conquer this old world

I need to change some things

I wanna make her proud

Its here inside, the stuff I need

To live my life out loud!!

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.