Poets logo

Why Vocal Will Always Disdain My Work

This Is Just A comic Observation - If My Work Were No Good People Would Not Read It

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 11 months ago β€’ 1 min read
8
Image By Author

These are just some tongue-in-cheek observations on how I think Vocal see me, as opposed to my friends and audience.

Although I write the odd horror or dark story, it is never depressing, I shed that skin long ago.

I also did a visual take on the poem as it is a short format sonnet

Appropriate music is "Don't You Want Me" by The Human League

πŸŒœπŸŒπŸŒ›

My Words Are Positive

They're Seldom Depressing

That's My Prerogative

Bad Stuff's Always Missing

πŸŒœπŸŒπŸŒ›

My Poetry's Formal

Love Making You All Smile

That's Not Vocal Normal

But I Am Versatile

πŸŒœπŸŒπŸŒ›

Seldom Include Swearing

Freeform Unusual

My Audience Growing

Think I Am Wonderful

πŸŒœπŸŒπŸŒ›

I Will Keep Being Me

Am I Good? Wait And See

πŸŒœπŸŒπŸŒ›

social commentaryslam poetryhumorfact or fiction
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ β™«

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les β™₯ Gina β™₯ Heather β™₯ Caroline β™₯

Babs β™₯ ROCK β™₯ Dhar β™₯ Cathy β™₯ Judey β™₯

Daphsam β™₯ Misty β™₯ Melissa β™₯ Ma Coombs β™₯

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    We don't have to wait & see. We already know that you're good, both as a writer & as a person.

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    You are good!!! Loving it!!!β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ’•

  • Well done Bravo!!

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I laughed at β€œdisdain” because I know you were being a bit sarcastic with that. I like your brand of humor. But honestly, I just said the exact same thing in the comments of one of my stories. I said poems only get Top Story if they’re sad, humorous, or about nature. I rarely write any poems like that. My only poem to get Top Story was a ridiculous limerick. When I wrote a poem about my dead ex boyfriend who I felt was the love of my life, people interpreted it as sexy and fun, not even noticing the bittersweet pain because it was subtle. I am like you. I don’t choose to write sad things. If I write about something awful I went through, I end it on an upbeat note, because I learned something from it. I’ve felt despair before, and I’m not interested in ever being in that dark of a place again. I don’t look for the silver lining, I automatically see it, because compared to what I’ve been through, I know it could always be much worse. I love your honesty and optimism you contribute to Vocal.

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Well, I like the positivity! It's refreshing and encouraging. πŸ’œ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.