Poets logo

Who I see on the inside.

A poem from my past that helped me write my way into my future.

By Jordan McCoy Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1

The up-close frontal view of my visage in the mirror,

the one I see every morning,

is who I see on the inside.

She is confident and clever.

Gorgeous in and out. Her timeless charisma, she never goes without.

The trouble comes when she steps a little further back, and catches sight of a stranger that she’s staring at.

She no longer sees her.

The one on the inside.

She loses faith in herself and begins to shift subconsciously aside.

Away from the mirror, Her strength faltering so.

She stays inside and convinces herself she doesn't deserve to go.

Cowardicly locked away,

perturbed by the world's judgments of who she was and what she felt she had to say.

She goes again to the mirror the next day.

Seeing the girl once more,

She remembers her face and all the features that adorn it.

She feels steadfast and deft.

Mind as bright as the Stars.

She's aware of the future and everything that plays a part,

in becoming who she wants to be and she knows where to start.

That girl, so strong, with a kind heart.

That's who I see on the inside.

artchildrens poetryinspirationallove poemsnature poetryperformance poetrysad poetryslam poetrysocial commentarysurreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.