Poets logo

Who I am

What I am

By Josephine MasonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
35
Who I am
Photo by Ashley Rich on Unsplash

What am I?

In a way that question is easy to answer

I'm human of course

At least that's what I think

~

Biologically I was born Male

The XY chromosome is my proof to that

But my heart asks me

Does that really matter at all?

~

Yes I know what my body is

But my heart is quite unsure

Am I Male? Am I Female? Or somewhere in between?

I don't know the answer to that

~

Who am I?

Again that's pretty simple to say

I was given the name Joshua

But maybe it's Josephine

~

She's my emotions

The tears called upon unannounced

She's my singer, my step, and my bounce

She's beautifully irrational when I just need to dive

~

She's what makes me want to write

She's what makes me want to grow

She's the understanding

She is part of me

~

He's the rock that's held me up

He's the one who kept me from crumbling

He's the one I turn to when I need a plan

But at the same time he's the one who has held me back

~

He's the one who held me steady

When I wanted to fall apart

He's the one whose rational

But he's also the one with a closed heart

~

Every step of these questions

Has been beautiful and yet terrifying

But now I have to ask them

Who am I?

This was written as something of a coming out poem. I've been wondering how to tell people about this. So I did it the only way I really know how. But I still don't fully know that answer myself. Thankfully I have two amazing partners who have supported me every step of the way in this journey. If you enjoyed this or if it spoke to you then please like. Till next time.

inspirational
35

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • S. C. Almanzar8 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this part of yourself with us! I like how you explain the dichotomy between the different halves that make you whole.

  • Novel Allen8 months ago

    Truth shall set you free. Accept even if others question.

  • 💯❤️😉✨📝👌I Appreciate your Piece❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.