Poets logo

Who I Am

A war resolved.

By Louise Katja RackinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

One lone tree in your neck of the woods

calls to another five miles away.

In my forest green coat I pull up my hood

whilst rainfall touches my skin as I wait.

There's no more years, time is at war,

as branches sway in a world-wide salute

and there's me in the middle, eyes red raw,

patiently collecting the last of the fruit.

Up above, blues collide

far away from who I am.

There's comfort in knowing that nobody dies

we have all been God and we have all been man.

Some say that colour is only a dream,

the same one that made us victims of time,

but when the clock strikes peace, I will believe

that freedom lives in our will to survive.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Louise Katja Rackin

I am a writer, illustrator and musician. I live in Brighton, and I spend most of my time creating stories and narratives - in my head, in words, in colour or in song.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.