Poets logo

White Mountains

such news will keep

By Christy MunsonPublished about a month ago 1 min read
9
White Mountains
Photo by Jessica Knowlden on Unsplash

awake

listening to the rain and you

fighting it out for scraps

.

I welcome night

fading

lights out

and you

sleep through, proud lion snoring

in time

.

I am

out of it

.

time

.

a small enemy grew

tearing down white cells

making white mountains

of hills and

valleys

of tears

followed

atop my pillowcase

.

sleep is for you now

.

tomorrow

after dawn kisses your melon

I will tell you

after I’ve blown

cool air across a lake of coffee

pooling in my cup

.

I never dreamed of dropping this

in your lap

.

were sleep mine,

were dreams still

a hand

that reached back for me,

I would hold out hope

for technical climbs,

and you

carrying the load

my Sherpa,

my lead,

my guide rope,

my stabilizing force against --

against doubt and

shadowy white mountains

giving rise to false hopes

like mounting fears

.

this body relinquishes its foothold,

seeks

its own level,

where dreams and you

may not follow

***

Copyright © 03/25/2024 by Christy Munson. All rights reserved.

sad poetryFree VerseFamily
9

About the Creator

Christy Munson

My words expose what I find real and worth exploring.

Check out Welcome! 👋🏻 for nav assist & Vocal creator recommendations.

Top Stories: 🥳

APR 2024 | APR 2024

MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 | MAR 2024 |

FEB 2024 |

JUN 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard29 days ago

    Wow! So poignant with such a blend of care and anguish. Beautifully done, Christy!

  • Babs Iverson29 days ago

    Brilliant & loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Oooo, lake of coffee! That was brilliant! Loved your poem!

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    The graciousness of letting sleep come before strength is needed. Great poem.

  • Farhat Naseemabout a month ago

    The best thing we can give to our beloved ones is Time.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.