Poets logo

White Light

A poem on being caught in the middle

By Michelle LiewPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
White Light
Photo by Chris Brignola on Unsplash

Being caught in the middle of any conflict is unenviable. People on both sides of it expect us to empathize with their viewpoints and take their sides. How do we walk the tightrope and remain in the white light of neutrality?

It requires tact,diplomacy, and dedication to fairness, all of which are not easy to attain if everyone has strong, conflicting opinions about a situation. It requires a fair consideration of all perspectives. One must draw clear boundaries as well. 

The white light of neutrality is difficult to see, but we must strive to remain in it. Enjoy these free verses. 

White light

Hard to see

Brightness blinds

Shone left

Too dim

To the right

Light 

Shines bright

But not sharp

With touch

of a feather

Light

Shines bright

But not sharp

When left

And right

Are seen

Light

Shines bright

When it reaches

Clear lines. 

inspirational

About the Creator

Michelle Liew

Hi, i am an English Language teacher cum freelance writer with a taste for pets, prose and poetry. When I'm not writing my heart out, I'm playing with my three dogs, Zorra, Cloudy and Snowball.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Omgggg, tell me about it! I hate it when I'm stuck in the middle. If I can see obvious fault in one person, then I'll take the other person's side. But if I feel both sides make sense, or if I don't know who to believe, I'd tell them I'd rather stay put of it. Loved your poem!

Michelle LiewWritten by Michelle Liew

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.