Poets logo

Whirling Whirlpool

A Poem on Preparing for the Unexpected

By Michelle LiewPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Whirling Whirlpool
Photo by Enrique Ortega Miranda on Unsplash

An near-accident involving my new puppy this morning led to this post. The little dog had escaped from her harness and run onto the road, nearly getting run over. Thankfully, she's safe and sound. 

But it brings to mind that we have to prepare for the unexpected. No matter how secure I thought the harness was, the dog still managed to escape it. I still have to make sure that she's never too close to the road. 

Staying informed is essential. I should have made sure to check the harness once I neared the road.  Contingencies would have helped; I should have brought her to the park instead of the bike path which was nearer my home. Practicing problem solving skills would help. She'll need more reinforcement of the sit and stay commands. 

THe whirlpool of unexpected circumstances may be difficult to manage, but we can tame it. Enjoy these cinquains.

Whirlpool

Swirls so sudden

Drawing chasm so dark

But we need to know when it will

Swallow

Whirling 

Steer clear of hole

To the rest and shelter

Of the near creeks and islands

Keep safe

Prepare

For gulping swirls 

With practiced strokes of oars

Knowing where the near islets are

Will stop. 

inspirational

About the Creator

Michelle Liew

Hi, i am an English Language teacher cum freelance writer with a taste for pets, prose and poetry. When I'm not writing my heart out, I'm playing with my three dogs, Zorra, Cloudy and Snowball.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Omgggg, I'm soooo relieved that she is okay! May I know her name? Loved your poem!

Michelle LiewWritten by Michelle Liew

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.