Poets logo

Whispers of Balaton

The child and the lake

By Gabriela Trofin-TatárPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Whispers of Balaton
Photo by Viktor Vasicsek on Unsplash

Dear lake of my childhood, tell me your tale, I pray,

Between Szigliget and Keszthely you sail, where vineyards tire of their wine,

And to your waters their bounty they consign, secrets to tell to your ancestors and future generations whole.

*

Long and narrow, I extend and expand as you get closer,

A tongue of land at one side, picturesque artsy landscapes,

At my end, a hill does stand and watches over my spirit,

Round and smooth, natural, inspiring, and frequently illusiory.

*

On your peak, I see the past, a chapel’s ruin, standing sentinel,

I feel through time, on the Tihanyi peninsula, the homes of hermits, old,

Covered in moss, stories untold, so much to sing and tell forward.

*

Yes, child, my waves have seen so much during many centuries of the past,

Enjoy the sights serene and wide with love, legends whispered by the breeze,

Of ancient days and mysteries,

Behold my geology treasures and beautiful geography.

*

I sense your history in the air, my childhood lake,

Every splash of your gentle waves is a memory we shared,

The mossy stones, the dreamy shore of my summer holidays,

Make me long to go back in time and relive it once more.

*

Come, little one, and listen to my tales of knights and hidden ghosts,

Of vineyards that toiled and heroes brave, all mirrored in my gentle waves.

*

I find delight in listening to you, beneath the stars, the soft twilight,

Your waters hold a magic deep without the monsters of the keep,

In your stories, I long to be the main character, the brave hero.

*

Come to me, and you will find in every ripple, some peace of mind,

The past and present intertwined, a timeless dance, forever kind,

Mindfully press rewind, my child.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Gabriela Trofin-Tatár

Full Stack Developer in the making and mother of 3 littles. Curious, bookaholic and travel addict. I also write on Medium and Substack: https://medium.com/@chicachiflada & https://chicachiflada.substack.com/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Nature Loverabout 16 hours ago

    My dream is now to visit this lake! ❤️❤️❤️

  • Caroline Janeabout 18 hours ago

    How incredibly soothing. Reads like a balm! 🥰

  • Babs Iversona day ago

    Lovely!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Halima Begum2 days ago

    good poem..

  • "Your waters hold a magic deep without the monsters of the keep," I especially loved that line! Such a beautiful poem

  • Michelle Liew3 days ago

    You grew up near a lake? How beautiful! And you did it justice with your poem!

  • I knew where Balaton is because of this lovely piece. Very engaging!

  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    This was absolutely enchanting from start to finish!! Beautiful imagery and lyricism! I’d never heard of this destination and now I long to visit! Wonderfully done, Gabriela!

Gabriela Trofin-TatárWritten by Gabriela Trofin-Tatár

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.