Poets logo

Whispering Teardrops / Nightfall Echoes

A Villanelle

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 5 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - December 2023
33
Image by RHC using Microsoft Word, Adobe Photoshop, pastels, charcoal, Google search

Misty rain falls through the night

Mystery fills the air

Teardrops falling losing sight

⛈⛈⛈⛈⛈

Somber clouds form a displaced fright

A silent breeze entangles my hair

Misty rain falls through the night

⛈⛈⛈⛈⛈

Blackbirds scatter on an endless flight

Spread thy wings recite a prayer

Teardrops falling losing sight

⛈⛈⛈⛈⛈

Twinkle, twinkle star so bright

Through the dark hold me with care

Misty rain falls through the night

⛈⛈⛈⛈⛈

Downpour coming to disturb the light

Red lights glare and signals flare

Teardrops falling losing sight

⛈⛈⛈⛈⛈

Dark skies wandering sub-delight

Vacant eyes disguised happy stare

Misty rain falls through the night

Teardrops falling losing sight

⛈⛈⛈⛈⛈

Notes from RHC

I spent about eight hours over a span of two days to write this Villnelle. I wanted to write something with a deeper meaning and something that was special.

I used an online thesaurus as well as an online rhyming dictionary. I also used ChatGPT to ask it the meaning of some of the lines I wrote in order to make sure I am communicating the meaning that I want to communicate. Not to worry these words are all my own words - ChatGPT did not write any of these words. I just asked Chat's interpretation of the words I wrote.

My actual scribbling of the prototype of the Villanelle

On day one, I wrote out my thoughts on paper. I usually do all my work on Google Docs, but this time, I felt starting out on paper would make the process easier. I had fun doing it this way as I could look at my changes and add others and have it all there on the menu to figure out where I wanted this to go. I added Blackbirds into the poem as a hint that I am working on the next part of my Blackbird Fly series.

Day two I transcribed everything to Google Docs and to my surprise I changed things up a bit more. This process worked for me. Not sure I will do it like this everytime. But I know that I try different writing methods in order to acheive a desired outcome.

Thank you my friends for reading!!!

With Love, RHC ❤️

surreal poetrynature poetryinspirationalart
33

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (29)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah Danaher3 months ago

    It was deep and beautiful, well done

  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I love the paper, that made this so much more personal and it was cool to get a glimpse of process 😁

  • C. H. Richard4 months ago

    Beautiful villanelle Rick ❤️ This line spoke to me the most with all the sadness in the world right now, "Vacant eyes disguised happy stare". Well done. ❤️

  • Sarah Edwin4 months ago

    I want to use this golden medium to Appreciate Dr Kuda for making my dream come through. I was on the internet when I saw people posting and talking about Dr Kuda. On How he has help them in winning huge amounts in lottery ticket, My name is Sarah Edwin, this is my story on how I win $754.6 Million Dollars, After reading the article talking good about Dr Kuda I contacted Dr Kuda I told him to help me win the Powerball lottery, Then he respond to me by saying he will help me after working with Dr Kuda, and assured me that I will win the Powerball Lottery Draw, Which I believe. After working with Dr Kuda, he gave me a five digit number and ask me to go and play it which I did today, now i’m here shearing a testimony about this same man Dr Kuda Changed my life by helping me to win $754.6 Million Dollars all thanks to you Dr Kuda, I will keep talking about your good work, because you are a man of your word I hope people that really need this help will come across it for you to help them as well. If you want to win biggest in lottery contact Dr. Kuda today and be rest assured of winning lottery game, contact via email: [email protected]

  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    Thank you for sharing the breakdown of how you came to this beautifully written poem. Well done!

  • Carol Townend5 months ago

    You've put a lot of thought and work into this, and the effort you have made is a fantastic one! I love how you have used the blackbirds, it adds essence to the poem. This has been worked on really well, and your work has certainly paid off.

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Thanks for sharing your process. And Congrats! I've started mine over 3 times already. lol.

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Great work Rick and excellent planning! I often write on paper first too. A swell Villanelle. Congrats on your top story! 😁

  • Talia Devora5 months ago

    Love it!!!

  • I'm back to say congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Congratulations on Top Story. Your villanelle is definitely a reflection of the amount of time and thought you put into it.

  • Misty rain & teardrops, a poignantly perfect combination.

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Very good!

  • Tressa Rose5 months ago

    Oh I loved this so much. I'm almost ready to publish mine, just want to make sure it's good and right before just throwing it out there, as it will be my first attempt. Yours is so beautiful!

  • JBaz5 months ago

    It was well worth the time spent. This is exceptional. Congratulations on a well deserved Top Story

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    Love the insight into the process! Congrats on the Top Story! :)

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    I liked your villanelle very much but I really enjoyed getting an insight into your writing process.

  • Test5 months ago

    Gorgeous Rick you can tell the work that went into this :)

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    gorgeous work Cousin! Sending you a huge hug!!

  • "Vacant eyes disguised happy stare" This line was so deep and hit me so hard! I noticed your Blackbird hint! You did such an awesome job in this Villanelle!

  • Judey Kalchik 5 months ago

    Thank you for the peek at your process. I enjoy seeing how others approach new things.

  • Impressive poem... what a process! "Mystery fills the air... A silent breeze entangles my hair." Love the rhyme.

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    Not bad, sir...

  • C. Rommial Butler5 months ago

    "Teardrops falling losing sight" This line is a poem unto itself! Well-wrought!

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Great Villanelle. Nice flow. Love the hint

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.