Poets logo

Whiskeys With The Reaper

Meeting the Grim Reaper

By Jason Ray Morton Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
By Jason Morton using Microsoft 365 Designer

I heard the call and knew I had to come

There's no peace with a price on your head

It's different for me than it is for some

I know I've always been just one step ahead

This meeting was written before I was born

A destiny foretold in the stars

Now we meet when I'm weary and worn

Here in this place, of all the bars

A greeting from you is not the same as a friend

Something that I don't know how to take

Never did I think of the possibility of an early end

But I now see it, after your cold and icy handshake

Around you have always been

Picking off the fallen pieces of people's lives

We all know you'll come, but not when

We meet you with somewhat relenting sighs

In my twenties, I prayed for you

Yet, never did you come

Heartbroken and defeated, not knowing what to do

Now, looking back, I was just dumb

Desperation wreaks havoc and then comes peace

Just as one finds themselves its cut short

You bring us to our knees

Sitting with you, we develop a report

As time grows short, do you decide to reap

Is it my time

Is it my soul you will keep

Not ready to go, until I know it's all going to be fine

Rage grows inside

Building up with all my might

From my rage, you cannot hide

It's building until you're out of my sight

It's too early, too soon to go

21 things left to do

Too many things I have to know

I'm not sorry, but I can't go with you

Finish your drink, they're on me

Then be on your way

I'm sticking around, or don't you see

Ah, Death, my day will come, but not this day

performance poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Wonderful one.

Jason Ray Morton Written by Jason Ray Morton

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.