Poets logo

While you wait

I'll be gone

By Esther AmiPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Photo by Kourosh Qaffari on Pexels

I'm not holding my breath

You walked out the door

Maybe you should stay gone

It hurt too much when you said

I'm leaving and you don't have to wait

I listened as you tore my heart

With every word you spoke

You brought me to tears

Ripped my heart into a million little pieces

I cannot capture with words what you did

But I let you believe that I'd wait

You said you'd go to her

I didn't hold back, you didn't want to be here

I let you leave, I watched you walk out

You took a part of me

I'm not asking for anything

I just wish you'd stay gone

Don't ever come back

Even if you do find your way back

I won't be holding out a candle for you

You lost it all when you left

I'm not giving you another minute to live

Rent-free in my head

I want to be free

Held on for too long

I'm letting you go

Giving this up

You're gone, that's my reality

I'm alone, that's my truth

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Esther Ami

Words are powerful and it matters how we use them. I use my words to build and impact, I use my words to lift and inspire. I am a words-person, I love words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.