Poets logo

Where There’s Anger There’s Hope

Where there’s silence there’s goodbyes

By Colleen Millsteed Published 10 months ago 1 min read
5
Image courtesy of Pixabay

Fear not my ire, my disappointment, my emotional pain,

Stand tall and be confident that we’ll ride the wave,

We may shout, turn away in rage and misunderstanding,

But where there’s anger there’ll always be hope to save.

😡

We’ll talk it out, even shout it out, and eventually forgive,

The smiles will return, the frown will disappear and the love will bloom,

Memories will be recalled and new ones made and life will go on,

Relationships healed and family reunions will once more resume.

😡

Hope is a glorious thing and behind every angry emotion

There’ll be the knowledge that it’s a temporary miscommunication,

The argument will be forgotten and relegated to the past,

Although we acknowledge it’s not pleasant for the duration.

😡

I’ll warn you though, as I say it’s not my ire you should fear,

It is, in fact, my silence that will tell the tallest tale,

Because if I gift you my silence, then know this for sure,

We’re done, dusted and our relationship is over in great detail.

😡

My silence is the preconceived death, my final goodbye,

I’ll walk away no matter how great my love for you,

Listen carefully now you’ve been fully warned,

Is it my silence you’re hoping will break through?

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

social commentaryslam poetry
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Omggg, this is sooooo true! I would only fight if I care. So I always told my ex boyfriend to be grateful I'm fighting. There was once he got so mad at me for always fighting. So I kept quiet for everything and showed him how cold my heart can go. He didn't like it 🤣🤣🤣

  • For my father-in-law & me, silence meant we didn't want to inflict ourselves upon anyone else (or that I was feeling depressed). Are things no better with your son & daughter-in-law?

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Colleen - So lovely and relatable "Final GoodByes" - It's always a pleasure to read all of your original work that I have among the 'Sniper's - If we are 'Writer's then we should write - J-Bud

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Wonderfully and beautifully expressed!!! Love this, my friend!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    Very true, when a woman is done there will be no more argument. It’s a sign of resignation to a relationship.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.