Poets logo

where the damage is undone

a dream poem

By Dane BHPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
created with DALL-E

Forget flight. In the best dreams,

I breathe under water,

and the light reaches all the way down:

clear, crisp, bright,

icy as the lung-filling gasp

before the year's first snow.

The fabric tangled at my knees

does nothing to slow me;

the ship's belly above,

a guardian.

The fish land on my shoulders, my wrists,

crown my hair

like butterflies.

The coral glows, unblighted.

Here, nothing I touch

turns to oily ash or rot;

my benevolent boat

is just a passing shadow.

I frighten nothing

but the enemies of water.

created with Dall-E

This poem was written and submitted for the Full Moon challenge on Vocal Media.

nature poetry
3

About the Creator

Dane BH

By day, I'm a cog in the nonprofit machine, and poet. By night, I'm a creature of the internet. My soul is a grumpy cat who'd rather be sleeping.

Top Story count: 17

www.danepoetry.com

Check out my Vocal Spotlight and my Vocal Podcast!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    My favorite so far! Great entry.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.