Poets logo

Where I Know I'm Home

Among the Wild Things

By Kristen JohnsonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Where I Know I'm Home
Photo by pine watt on Unsplash

Golden rays kiss dew-soaked ground

While birds greet the day with a melodious sound

I behold distant mountains, fair golden crowned

Beneath the azure dome

Early is the hour as I choose to rise

While cacophonous crickets cease their lullabies

The sun breathes new life into earth and skies

And brushes them polychrome

With jubilant steps, I enter the trees

Sheltered from the nipping cold morning breeze

The stillness a balm for my heart’s disease

Out where the wild things roam

Booted feet ache as I ascend ever higher

With sweat-dampened skin from the effort required

But nothing can stifle the burning desire

Freedom, sweet as honeycomb

What I wouldn’t give for one single chance

To lose myself in this glorious trance

Rushing water the music, a magnificent dance

As the mountain rapids foam

It’s in these moments that I’m sure

There’s no where I am more secure

Than here in nature’s sweet succor

And know that I am home

nature poetry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sidney Smith2 years ago

    Beautiful!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.