Poets logo

Where Has My Purpose Gone?

By Phantasma

By Rachel JacobsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Berserk.

They snapped their fingers like a magician,

With their great facade they shut down the world.

They hid behind orders, desks and dollar signs,

Telling the world how to feel, act and live.

They shut down the world in a snap of their fingers,

With voices from anchors preaching out panic!

So we obeyed our masters with arms folded,

We halted our happiness and misery for mystery.

I walk among a world with fear and sadness,

I hike within nature, full of envious gazes,

For what does the spring need to worry of?

Worry of that virus floating through the air?

I feel lost in the flowing freeways and roads,

I feel lost without my purposeful days,

Days full of education and capitalism.

I feel so lost without my purposeful days.

I look forward to THC, movies, food and sex,

Stuck within the walls, stuck between the lies.

I’m wilting within my unstimulated brain,

The trees and flowers can only do so much.

They control much more than I ever knew,

My purpose, my money, my feelings and life!

I roam empty through the mountains,

Searching for purpose, for love, for misery.

What must nature fret over?

I know it’s not for purpose.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Jacobs

Welcome to The Chameleon Heart.......

@phantasma.philosophy ~ Instagram for my poetry.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.