Poets logo

Where do We Live?

i don't mind.

By Kay SourcePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Where do We Live?
Photo by Abishek on Unsplash

Being sober is very robust in a way

That I expected a lack of depth

Shadow living is what I call it

Sinking into shelter that was a brief reprieve from hurt

But too exhausting of a fevered pursuit

It may not be true

But what I think right here and now,

Is that we will explore where

We find the greatest terror

I know mine could live inside the mind

But also,

Its beautiful

I’ve been captive there

For so long

That getting out reminds me I get to choose

Which one to survive

I've considered the scenarios

What if I’m sliding down the end of the rope

And I like the way down

But I keep milestone-ing, trying to keep up hope

Comfort in the fact that it hasn’t run out

Am I dealing with anything?

What if I get stuck in my head

And then while i'm gone you all realize

You didn’t want me anyhow.

If its true were a collection of moments we’ve seen,

A brush of each encounter pressed into a medium

And we emerge a piece, crafted among decisions we made and didn’t

Sometimes i'm left to wonder

What good are intentions?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kay Source

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.