Poets logo

When Your Heroes Become Monsters

"You were once a shining beacon / That was dimming / When I discovered / The darkness -- / The poison inside you..."

By CD TurnerPublished 10 months ago 2 min read
Like

I didn't want to believe

The rumors,

The gossip,

The accusations,

The controversy.

/

You were once a shining beacon

That was dimming

When I discovered

The darkness --

The poison within you.

/

I feel so betrayed

So ashamed...

The magical world

I escaped in as a child

Was crumbling

Because the real villain

Was you all along.

/

I'm not even trans

But I am offended by you.

Using your talent

To lace each word

With thorns

To strike at the hearts

Of innocent people.

/

They say you should

"Never meet your heroes,"

Because you forget

In your admiration

That they are human

And subject

To human follies.

/

Your books used to lift me

Out of the deepest of miseries

Like a lifejacket thrown

To me drowning in the sea.

Now I look at each title

On my shelf

With a lump in my throat

Knowing that they were forever ruined.

/

Your books taught me

The power of love --

How ironic that seems now...

That love has left you

And rendered you

So void of compassion.

/

The actors who brought

Your characters to life

Decry your antics...

Yet you cling to the notion

That your unfounded assumptions

Are valid reasons to hate.

/

How is it that a woman

That designed characters

Who fought against bigotry

Within the wizarding world

Should become the most bigoted?

/

You have ruined my childhood

And countless lives of trans people

Who live in fear

Because you have vilified them

And deemed them inferior.

/

When heroes become monsters,

Every aspect of their work

Is picked apart

And examined at face value.

Even those seven books

Are not immune

From scrutiny.

/

I want to believe

That you'll see reason

And you'll make amends

For this crusade you've ignited.

But you have broken the hearts

Of Potterheads everywhere

With your senseless hate.

social commentaryslam poetrysad poetry
Like

About the Creator

CD Turner

I write stories and articles. Sometimes they're good.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.