Poets logo

I Write

Poetry

By V DeviPublished 14 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
7

I write ,

because otherwise I just might

get the urge to fight

and risk this very very bright

future I have going for me, right?

___

Or at least that's what I'm told by bite

sized humans and that's not right

because if they could they’d light

up my life and not like lamps in the night.

___

I write,

Because I almost lost my sight.

But, it took that for me to see the true height

I can reach, sneak peak, it’s higher than the kite

I used to fly at five and despite

All the cuts and burns, I held on tight

With my tiny toddler hands that started off white

Now covered in red, what a foreshadowing sight

Considering I ended up a Scarlet Knight.

___

And no it wasn’t out of spite,

if that’s your belief, that’s alright.

But indecisiveness was never my kryptonite.

I always knew Rutgers was the only site

To keep someone like me, who’d rather book a flight

Grounded, void of any foresight.

___

And I still managed to be polite,

Every step of the way, not just for one night.

And no no, not all uptight,

I mean a complete delight.

___

So much so that now they all invite

Me like come out with me tonight

But I say no because I’d rather write

Instead of having to recite

A bunch of small talk just to excite

A bunch of strangers I don’t even like.

___

I write ,

because otherwise I just might

get the urge to fight

and risk this very very bright

future I have going for me and that’s just not right,

And so, I write.

___

Free Verse
7

About the Creator

V Devi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran14 days ago

    This was so poignant and extremely relatable! Loved your poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani14 days ago

    Very very relatable! "I’d rather write" - mmhmm!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.