Poets logo

The Right Side

why does it feel so wrong?

By CD TurnerPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

You kept me in a box filled with Bible verses,

Each telling me my life ain't mine...

That I belong to a man who would promise me heaven

But only after I died.

/

So I thought,

"Why do I have to live then?

Can't I just end it all

And go straight to Heaven?"

/

But they told me no,

Suicide is a sin,

And so is everything else

That isn't worshipping him.

/

Well, I ain't gonna be Christlike...

Sure as hell ain't lady-like...

I don't want to be on the right side

If I can't even live my own life.

/

Well, I ain't gonna be submissive

Watching what I say 'cause you can't take it

I don't want to be on your good side

If my body won't even be mine.

/

They told me my depression was my own fault

I didn't trust in the Lord enough to do his will.

I cried every single day to God

Begging of him to be healed.

/

My father was a man who thought he was beholden

To a woman's unconditional devotion.

Then I grew up to be a fat bitch

With too many emotions.

/

Well, I ain't gonna be Christlike...

Sure as hell ain't lady-like...

I don't want to be on the right side

If I can't even live my own life.

/

Well, I ain't gonna be submissive

Watching what I say 'cause you can't take it

I don't want to be on your good side

If my body won't even be mine.

/

If this is the right side,

Then why I do feel so wrong?

I'm so fucking tired,

I don't even want to keep singing this song.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

CD Turner

I write stories and articles. Sometimes they're good.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.