Poets logo

When You Say... I Hear

I ran away from home because of all the things they said.

By Emily DickersonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
When You Say... I Hear
Photo by Jessica Burnett on Unsplash

Memories…

And time have left me scarred…

When you say “You deserve better,”

I hear “We look down upon the lowly status you have chosen.”

When you say “You’re making a huge mistake,”

I hear “You have failed us and we are so eternally disappointed.”

When you say “This is like throwing yourself off of a cliff,”

I hear “You are crazy, irrational, insane, and this could never end well.”

When you say “We have so many big concerns,”

I hear “These giant, immovable obstacles will destroy everything we worked for in your life.”

When you say “We love you and just want the best for you,”

I hear “We need to control your life because you can’t make decisions for yourself.”

When you say “This isn’t the fairy tale we pictured for you,”

I hear “We will be forever upset if you don’t comply with our demands.”

When you say “We are trying to help you,”

I hear “We are trying to oppress you and control you like a toddler.”

When you say “You need to make wise choices and think about yourself,”

I hear “You are foolish and have never done anything right - and never will.”

When you say “This is disordered and not in proper time,”

I hear “We know better than you because we have God-like cosmic powers.”

When you say “I will only listen if you talk reason,”

I hear “I will terminate our relationship based on how I perceive your intentions.”

When you say “Don’t think of bringing him around here for Christmas,”

I hear “I will actively hunt you both down and shoot him on sight.”

When you say “Be prepared to run,”

I hear “This can only end as the worst-case scenario.”

When you say “I will not be manipulated,”

I hear “You are inherently evil and trying to dupe me, you snake.”

When you say “I wish you didn’t feel that way,”

I hear “This is your fault and you are causing problems.”

When you say “I don’t support this relationship,”

I hear “It’s me or him… and you won’t be my daughter anymore if you choose him. I don’t love you.”

heartbreak

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Emily DickersonWritten by Emily Dickerson

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.