Poets logo

When You Leave

You’ll leave with me

By Ecarg NosivePublished 6 months ago 2 min read
1

I already miss you even though you’re still right here in my arms

It’s abundantly more than unfortunate that we don’t get enough time

My baby girl you’re more than just a creature whom I feed and provide

You’re mama’s angel, the only one I could find

I see it in your eyes that you understand me

Talking without words

I can see that you love me, but what you don’t know is that I love you more

You’ve saved me just by being there and I know you’ve had no choice

But something tells me that if you could choose you’d still sleep by me at night

There’s a soul in there more gentle than a human could ever be

And yes when I say that I am also talking about me

I haven’t been the easiest owner

And I hate to even say own

But you’ve dealt with me this long

And we’ve always been each others home

The loss of you creeps up on me as you grow older with age

Sometimes I wish I could perish before you so I wouldn’t have to see you leave

But I wouldn’t do that to you

You’re the reason I stay

I used to have 3

But the other 2 left in dismay

That puts pressure on your meaning

And I do have other fur covered beings

But you’ve lived a million life times with me

How am I supposed to live a billion more without your comfort that frees

You have years to go

Or at least I hope so

I set out to give you the best

Life you have ever lived thus far

I know your soul will rest after you depart

But I strive to make it an easy transition

It‘ll be my hardest descision but

As you lay in my arms for one last time

I hope it feels like bathing in the sun,

generous warmth taking you to the light

You always enjoyed that and the end should feel like what you thought was fun

I’ll kiss you as usual all over your sculptured face

I’ll trace my fingers down your skull once more

Wiping my tears out of place

I’ll cherish every moment before your death

But just know you’ll leave with grace

Kiara,

I love you

Grandma will be there waiting for you

to cuddle and watch TV

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ecarg Nosive

I'm a 27 year old writer from Ohio trying to make my passion, my career. Besides writing I enjoy animals, nature, and concerts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Kiara is so pretty! I'm so sorry you've already lost two of them 🥺 Losing a pet is never easy. Your poem was so emotional!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.