Poets logo

When You Can’t See

For “Sensational”

By Katherine BodgerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
When You Can’t See
Photo by Jolly Yau on Unsplash

When you can’t see well,

Other senses do become sharper.

I differentiate dark and medium coffee beans by smell,

One just barely bolder than the other.

I can’t see a fly whizz by,

But I can hear it buzz by my head,

I can still kill it first try,

Can tell by the goop on my hand.

I can tell who is coming in based on their walk,

Can figure out people based on blurry frames,

Rough and doubled, less clear than chalk,

Yet, I can tell who it is and say their name.

I can click my teeth and navigate a lightless room,

Taste cooking or burning food on my tongue,

Can guide a needle better than a loom,

Or feel how straight a picture is after it’s hung.

Can still see the contrast of white spots on a black backdrop,

Can still taste something and know what to call it,

Or locate something once it’s dropped,

Eyes aren’t everything, not even a bit.

excerpts

About the Creator

Katherine Bodger

I’ve always loved to write. Whether or not I’m any good, well, that’s for others to decide.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katherine BodgerWritten by Katherine Bodger

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.