Poets logo

When We First Met

We Fell In Love

By Darla M SeelyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

When we met, it was love at first sight.

We both knew that our marriage would be right.

We had no money, we did what we could.

You fed me chili and food that was good.

I knew that you had been married before.

We worked at DI which is a thrift store.

Our age difference did not matter to me.

When I prayed about you, God heard my plea.

You had two girls I looked forward to know.

As time went on, I knew our love would grow.

I knew that I would not have kids with you.

God said one day I would; I know it’s true.

You lived in an apartment. I did too.

I did not like this, and neither did you.

When we talked, it was hard to say good-bye.

My family knew that you were a nice guy.

We almost broke up. This just could not be.

You wrote such a heartfelt letter to me.

We were engaged not long after we met.

Our courtship’s a time I will not forget.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Darla M Seely

I love to write poems, crochet, take photos, and make scrapbooks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gal Muxabout a year ago

    Awwwww ❤️. Sounds like a very beautiful love. Very romantic. You are blessed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.