Poets logo

When love came home

Lonely hearts song

By GodwinPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
When love came home
Photo by Dương Trần Quốc on Unsplash

Love, at first, could not be found

Imitations did not suffice

I knew loneliness, and it knew me

A reliable friend it was, till the day she came

Loneliness would not leave; it had a home in me

My heart was locked away, and she became my friend

She made me laugh, she made me see things I had not seen

She made me comfortable, she made me free

When love crept in and loneliness left, I was not aware

Until the day she left

Then loneliness returned, and I knew what was lost

I searched, and I yearned

I called and howled, but she was gone

Then one day, good fortune smiled, and she answered my call.

I held her close from that moment

I was contented and overjoyed

I was sure my heart would explode

If she had to be away, I was forlorn

If I had to work, my mind was with her

My work suffered, but my heart prospered

She had become everything to me

My soul's companion

Like a house, she has become my home

love poems
1

About the Creator

Godwin

A bit of a Philosopher, Poet and Photographer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.