Poets logo

When I Was Young

Don’t Take Time For Granted

By Dasani JonesPublished 16 days ago 1 min read
3

When I was young, I was safe and Furled*.

Now that I’m not, I have so many worries in the World

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I was young, I smiled all the Time.

Now that I’m not, It feels like smiling‘s a Crime.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I was young, I was Foolish.

Now that I’m not, I know what I can Accomplish.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I was young, I hated to Run.

Now that I’m not, running is my only escape; besides a Gun.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I was young, I could eat Non-Stop.

Now that I’m not, If I eat too much I feel like a Snob.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I was young, life was Easy.

Now that I’m not, life makes me feel Queasy*.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Furled: rolled up and secured.

*Queasy: a feeling of nervousness, uneasiness, or anxiety.

childrens poetry
3

About the Creator

Dasani Jones

Hi! My name is Dasani, but my friends call me DD.

I am a collage student with big hopes and dreams.

I go to Fashion Institute of Technology and hope to become a fashion artist.

I am a part-time poet/author. Hope you enjoy them!😘😉❤️‍🔥

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran15 days ago

    I wish I had a gun, lol. Hope you're okay DD. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.