Poets logo

When I Pretend

That look

By Frankie MartinelliPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
69
When I Pretend
Photo by Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

We went through August

Not a drop of sun fell before us

Don't ignore the signs

I know you'll get out of bed for the sunshine

The sun's gaze will find us again

Remember the playlist I made for you?

Much more than friends

I always hide my pain from you,

but you always seem to know when I pretend

That look, so moreish

Lost in your eyes

Just like a tourist

Have I overstepped the line?

You know I meant what I said

Every time

The sun's gaze will find us again

Remember the playlist I made for you?

Much more than friends

I always hide my pain from you,

but you always seem to know when I pretend

love poemsheartbreak
69

About the Creator

Frankie Martinelli

Musician.

All work is copyrighted, and is my own.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (30)

Sign in to comment
  • WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE7 months ago

    nice

  • Simply Rereloluwa8 months ago

    It’s so simple yet so sophisticated and satisfying. This is amazing!

  • Joseph N.8 months ago

    I like your work, You Rock. Congrats!!

  • I like it and I never liked poetry. I am getting a thrill from it on this site.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    Another first-class poem, Frankie! You've been on a roll recently! Well done on this - incredibly relatable and so much emotion in every single line! Congrats on Top Story for it!

  • Morgana Miller9 months ago

    This is really lovely. I feel the angst, and the hope, and the hopelessness—brings me RIGHT back to those more-than-friends feelings, past. "Not a drop of sun fell before us" is a stunning line.

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Congratulations! 🎊

  • krisaleen9 months ago

    I have recently started posting my articles here and would love to hear your thoughts and feedback. It would mean a lot to me if you could take a few moments to read and share your thoughts. Please subscribed to me and I will do the same. <3 https://vocal.media/authors/krisaleen

  • Test9 months ago

    Great piece <3

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    My friend said the same about me. She always sees it in my eyes that I know.

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Some will read you well; others just skim for the key terms. Excellent analysis here!

  • Sam smith9 months ago

    Good work

  • ANFAS9 months ago

    nice

  • This was so good and honest. The emotion really came through especially in the repeated lines

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    This has such a wonderful flow to it. Very well done! congrats on the Top Story.

  • Oladimeji adewale9 months ago

    Congrats on your story

  • Missclicked9 months ago

    this was so beautiful and i loved reading each line congratulations on top story! :)

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Great poem. Congrats on top story

  • Mattie :)9 months ago

    Very touching. Nice one, Frankie.

  • Akapo oluwaseyi9 months ago

    I just posted a new article can you please help me review it so I can do better https://vocal.media/stories/the-republican-primary-race-of-2024

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉😉📝👌

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Well written! Great poem!

  • Ahamed Thousif9 months ago

    This is Beautiful! Wonderful Poet Frankie.

  • Jaslynn9 months ago

    beautiful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.