Poets logo

When I'm Alone

I am never lonely

By Melissa SteussyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10
When I'm Alone
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Because I know I have you by my side

You may not be here in the material world, but I feel your presence each day.

You heal me when I’m sick, you take care of my heavy head and worried thoughts.

I go through times when I think dark thoughts, but you always pick me up again.

I never have to fear when you hold me close, in spirit of course.

I haven’t seen you in years, but I have to believe that I chose you all of that time ago, that we had a connection, we had made a plan to be together in this life.

I will no longer feel sad about your demise. I know you did the best you could and this life was hard and painful for you.

I relax knowing you are at peace and here to watch over me and give me protection and guidance.

In fact, being alone is the best time for me to connect with you and to remember. To feel and to breathe in the peace of your presence. The safety I feel being here with you.

Yes, no one else can see you, but I can feel you and the warmth you lay upon my heart.

We were blood, but no longer. Now just flesh and bone here on this somewhat cold, dark Earth without you.

I think of you often, though, but I no longer worry. I know that you are safe and sound.

Watching over me, and I thank you.

love poems
10

About the Creator

Melissa Steussy

Author of Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction and Family Dysfunction. Available at The Black Hat Press:

https://www.theblackhatpress.com/bookshop/p/let-your-privates-breathe

https://www.instagram.com/melsteussy/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.