Poets logo

When dreams come true

The man I always knew

By Silver Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
When dreams come true
Photo by Elia Pellegrini on Unsplash

How is it possible to see you there,

With a flawless face, and an intense stare,

I never thought you could be real,

You were a face in a dream, that helped me heal.

It’s been so long since I saw your face,

A face that became hard to erase.

I used to dream of you, you seemed so pure,

We’d fly and love and have adventures and explore,

There was little we wouldn’t do,

We could dance and laugh all night through.

Then one day you went away,

You were no longer there, you wouldn't stay,

I had never thought love could be true,

Until the day I started dreaming of you,

I felt I’d known you my entire life,

In my dreams, I was your love and wife,

But it was never meant to be,

Life had other plans for me.

You disappeared from my vision,

and here you stand like some universal collision.

What do I do, how do I behave?

Do I run, or do I be brave?

Do you know me, were the dreams true?

Was I somehow connected to you?

Your stare doesn't waver, it's zeroed in,

The intensity has been pinned,

I'm not moving, I've gone too still,

My stomach's doing somersaults at the long lost thrill.

I feel the magnetism that draws me in,

We don't resist this battle, as we know we won't win.

For a moment, it's like I always knew,

That we'd find each other as our feelings grew,

Like we could never be too far apart,

Tied by a string that connects our hearts.

I don't know where this story will go,

But it may be a story you already know,

It seems to have been told in so many ways,

From films to TV to stories and theatre plays.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Silver

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.