Poets logo

The little owl

A poem about an owl

By Silver Published 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The little owl
Photo by Kevin Mueller on Unsplash

In the endless dark of night,

I soar the skies in a dreamless flight,

My eyes scan the ground looking for prey,

But as soon as they see me they run away.

A guardian of the night, that's what they say,

For I prefer the night instead of the day.

So where did I come from, there's many stories for sure,

From an omen of death to an idol in folklore.

Regardless of what you think, we're not different you and I,

Except while you walk on the land, I fly in the sky.

My heart-shaped face is an example of the love I can feel,

There are many feelings I have and they're all so real,

you may look at me and just see a large barn owl,

You may think I'm beautiful or rather fowl.

But let me assure you, I mean no harm,

So if you see me, I don't mean you alarm,

I'm not a bad omen, or here to scare,

That inaccurate judgment is your weight to bear.

An owl you call me but even the ancients knew,

How sacred I was, I wasn't a taboo.

So the next time you see me, please give me a smile,

And I'll watch over you for a little while.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Silver

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.