Poets logo

When Doves Cry

Thoughts of a orphan

By Kallie VenturiniPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Like

When doves cry :

What am i ? A sparrow beneath the trees? A squirrel in the leaves? Cause all i want to do is feel a breeze but seems like the weight of the world is on my wings. Dreaming of the sky, thats so high, but the sparrows have me tied to this tree, moving me from branch to branch. Making me think im free. Wanting to touch the sky but only getting to the leaves. When you want to fly away but your locked to a tree, its hard to see. Everything blends in but i know, i know the sky and the sky knows me . So why am i tied to this tree? Squirrels coming and going with new string, only making me think im free but im still tied to this tree. I thought i made it out but the string is just longer now. Whats so scary about the sky? Is it cause it so high? They are so low , and they will never know the feelings in my heart and the dreams of my wings beneath the stars. But they dont care. They just want me tied to the tree, cause that the easy thing. To make me think im a squirrel in there world, but im just a dove trying to break free. But they dont want me to see me , in there cold world. Been looking at the ground so long, how could i have known. I wasnt a sparrow, just a dove trying to see its self . Still Tied to this tree, dreaming of the skys and sea. Been in the dark so long, my soul has forgotten what the moonlight feels like. Why wont they just let me go. Let me fly. But they would just rather me cry.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kallie Venturini

🦋 It's not the image, but the human experience♾️ Elvis "God" Presley ⚡️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.