Poets logo

When all your stars align

from across the room

By reginaPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
2

Whoa, have I ever felt this way before?

How is it that a glimpse of someone can ignite your insides all at once?

Flames burning from your chest to awaken all desire

Any thirst in you’s been quenched

One glimpse and I am hooked

Mesmerized by the most beautiful being alive

From across the room I saw the journey

The valleys, rivers and the mountains

The heartbreak in goodbyes and the excitement in the greetings

The agony in failure and the grief of loss

I saw the darkness, too

And the pain that was, difficulty, overcome by brightness

From across the room I heard her presence

The roaring loudness of her smile

Nearly blinding all your fears

Her eyes, like honey, dense and lively

Sweet essentials to the butterfly effect we call life

Everything she’s witnessed, right behind those doors of hers

From across the room I saw her triumph

Her posture so strong, her chest heaved with pride

Her hair freed like stardust with highlights of the times the wind caressed it

I could see everyone staring at her, we’re all invested

One look at her and you are done for

Whatever you were searching for, whatever you were missing

It just simply does not, and will not ever, matter

Why have I- how have I never felt this way before?

I want to feel this feeling, this moment, this picture

Exactly as I do now, forever more

Her outfit, elegant and pleasing to your senses

The energy she radiates is calming

Mending every break and crack within me

The truth sinking in my every cell and every thought

Freeing me of every cry, rejection and goodbye

It tells me stories of a happy end

It whispers provocatively to take a deeper look

I cannot, will not, fight this truth

As I caught my eyes in the mirror from across the room

Everything that I could see before, couldn’t say before

I catch myself in whisper as I accept it, “I love her”

Suddenly, for the first time in my life

I see “me”

I recognize “me”

“Her”, “me”, “self”, “myself” and “I” have all aligned

My stars, the sign that I’ve been waiting for

My next love announced with neon lights

Would I have known it?

If I hadn’t caught my glimpse in that old mirror from across the room?

Would I have believed it?

I don’t think I did

When everybody told me, someday everything would add up

All I know is that I know

With confidence in everything I am

That woman staring back at me right now

I finally see her clearly for everything I am

And I love her, with everything I’ve got

love poems
2

About the Creator

regina

https://www.instagram.com/inbetweentherhymes/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.