Poets logo

What You Are Not

Expectations are not the reality and that's okay

By A. NguyenPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
What You Are Not
Photo by Jens Lelie on Unsplash

Warmth, light, comfort,

An outstretched hand:

Asylum. Ally.

These are the things you are not.

</3

Yet another player of the game

although you were sweet like an NPC.

Acceptance… little quirks, ticks and all.

Temptation sweeter than ambrosia

and more enticing than Eve’s apple.

The one thing I’ve longed for,

caused clouding in my judgment.

</3

So I jumped. Too much faith

in the idea of you and the sweet nothings

simply exchanged becoming something stronger

due to blind faith in your character.

</3

You were not my savior-

putting a stop to my drifting at sea

-just a ship passing by

leaving some supplies

and going on your way.

</3

These are what you are not

a fact that I’ve come to terms with,

waking from the falsehood

of my own delusions.

It doesn’t hurt though,

at least… not as predicted.

</3

“Mine” is what you are not

Just as “yours” is not what I am

love poems
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.