Poets logo

What the Tree is Wearing

An abecedarian

By Rachel DeemingPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
13
What the Tree is Wearing
Photo by Julia Caesar on Unsplash

As I sit and look at you

Blossoms bounce on bare branches.

Cloudy clusters crowding

Dotting their pinkness on brown spindles.

Every time I look out

Flowers catch my eye

Giving the blandness of winter

Haute couture.

I love this tree.

Just doing its thing.

Knowing from the turning of the Earth,

Light's path in the universe

"My time is now!"

Nature's prompt:

Out with the flounce!

Power up the blooms!

Quick!

Runway is calling!

Shimmy and

Turn!

Unwavering gaze.

Vanity wins.

Watch me in my splendour:

Xaroncharoo!

Year's dark beginning startled by

Zenith manifested in the gloom.

nature poetryFree VerseFor Fun
13

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    This brought me a smile, very cleverly done. More beautiful, though, surely, than anything on any runway ❤

  • This is quite beautiful, stirring & lovely. Though it does make me think of all those winters-springs in South Dakota where the apple trees would burst into blossom with mild weather, only to be bitten with a late snowstorm & freeze.

  • Shirley Belk3 months ago

    I love how you brought out the personality of nature and the rhythm of the anticipation of Spring

  • Andrea Corwin 3 months ago

    A new word! Such a beautiful scene you created - I want to go to the runway show - soon! 🌸🌷💕

  • Gerard DiLeo3 months ago

    Very nice, Rachel.

  • John Cox3 months ago

    The is an absolutely delightful poem. I loved every delicious syllable! The photo of the cherry blossoms is beautiful as well.

  • Such a sweet abecedarian poem! “ Quick! Runway is calling! Shimmy and Turn!”

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    I love the word Xaronacharoo...I believe I used it in an abecedarian I did last year built from senyrus...anyway...this was delightful! It reminds me of the whimsical poems you've done in the past like your one about funky socks etc. Love it!

  • Lol I Googled Xaroncharoo and it automatically detected it as a Somali word which translated to hospital! Then I kept going and found that it means brilliant in Spanish! Your Abecedarian was Xaroncharoo!

  • D. J. Reddall3 months ago

    Xaroncharoo!?!

  • Test3 months ago

    Aw very lovely! I love the Haute couture line, blossoms really do, and the lovely overall softness to this 🤍 Snapped my out of my grouch!

  • Mariann Carroll3 months ago

    Lovely

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.