Poets logo

My Endless Pursuit

Give me just a little more Time

By Rachel DeemingPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
10
My Endless Pursuit
Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I don't want to be a bore

But sometimes I think Time might like me more

If I did nothing

And aspired to even less.

Because my demands for it are so high:

I'm always decreeing "I need more Time!"

Like a mutated White Rabbit.

I think Time thinks I'm too much work.

I don't know how to make it more generous.

Is there a trick for getting more Time?

I don't want to bribe or cajole;

I don't want to coerce

But shit, I wish there were just a few more places

Where Time could be gathered

Like coins by Mario

And I could store them up in golden piles

And dip into them when I needed to

And extend a minute like elastic

To fit.

That would be magic.

humorsurreal poetryFree VerseFor Fun
10

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨4 months ago

    Move closer to the equator… time is experienced at around half the speed 😉 (Einstein’s theory of relativity - faster you move through space, the slower you move through time)

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    “Like coins by mario”.. I love Mario. I think that is the only game I play every now and again to be honest! I bet there are ways to stop time. Smash all the clocks for starters. I hope you get oodles of time soon! 😁

  • Wouldn't it just?

  • I so wish I had more time too! My watchlist and TBR keeps expanding and here I am on Vocal 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • John Cox4 months ago

    Ask me for anything, but don’t ask me for time. - Napoleon Bonaparte Wonderful and fun inverse poem. Did you enter this in the challenge? You absolutely should!

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    More time, yes, always, but also more energy to use it!

  • Andrei Z.4 months ago

    "Like a mutated White Rabbit." - hehe! Ain't no magic in our world. Time fairies don't want to sign no contracts with us, earthlings. At times, it feels so unfair.

  • Merrie Sanders4 months ago

    I feel this all too well. Like Mario gathering coins...If only! Love that imagery.

  • Test4 months ago

    Oh my goodness! Yes! There is just never enough. I find myself wishing so often that I didn't need to sleep, that the minutes weren't charged by the hour x

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.