Poets logo

What Shines Forth

Metaphors of a journey from paralyzing depression to healing

By Nami OkaluPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

What Shines Forth

Tears

I am drowning

in a sea of them.

Or is it an ocean?

A river?

Are they mine?

Or my mother’s?

I sink below the surface

Only to rise

Just enough

To survive another day.

Black

This water

This night

So dark.

Where does

One end

And the

Other begin?

How long

Have I

Been here?

Years and seconds

Are the same

In this wretched place.

Green

I am filled with Green

Is it envy?

Greed?

Whatever this filth

It flung me

Into these depths.

I can not

Escape its clutch.

I have

No words

For this

Disease

That sets

Me

Apart.

I must

Have done

Something

To deserve this.

Sky

I remember

The sky

So blue

A Sunday

Afternoon

When I first

Noticed

The green

Invading

Each corner

Of my heart.

Such a beautiful day.

So why

Does my spirit

Ache?

Time

As time passed

And years faded

The green

Inside me

Grows stronger

Till I am

Consumed.

It drags me

Towards

These Waters.

I fight

Its grasp

Wealth

Devotion

Praise

Nothing can

Satisfy

Its wrath.

How can

Empathy

And emptiness

Coexist?

I feel everything.

I feel nothing.

Cursed

Cursed to wander

All alone

How can I

Both suffocate

And breathe?

Existence

Is purgatory.

This is not life

And not death.

But somewhere

In between.

I feel

The weight

Of grief

For a broken

And hurting

World.

This cruelty

Is unmatched.

Weak

I lack

The strength

I am powerless

To change

Anything.

The green

Inside

Is angered

By my

Helpless

Hapless

Existence.

Heaven?

Universe?

Anyone?

Someone, please

Save me.

My cry is heard.

An unforeseen hero

Emerges.

Green

Shines forth.

I glow

In a sea of dark

I am

A thousand stars

In one

Slowly

And faithfully

I begin to rise

Above the waves

Fire

Burns within

My soul

Ignites

The green

That flows

In each and every vein.

Reality shifts.

What set me apart

Was actually

A gift.

The light

I am

Guides me home.

Life

It was always life.

A truth

So hard

To find.

The green

A tool

To ensure

Survival

In the endless night.

Changes

Upon ignition.

Death

To life

Fear

To courage

Madness

To peace.

Suffering undeserved

But still allowed.

Why?

Land

Sweet

Majestic land.

My feet

Firmly planted.

How long

Has it been

Since I

Have seen

A flower

Bloom

In spring?

Sunrise

Day breaks

Upon a meadow

The land embraces

My weary heart.

Relief.

I rest

And renew

But I know

Sunset

Will come

Again.

I am safe.

But the green remains.

Calling

The sea she calls

A siren’s whisper

Basking

In sunlight

And still

I hear

Dark voices

In my head

But this time

It will be different

This time

I am ready.

I know

What

I was

Made for.

Purpose

The green is

A life

Uniquely

Mine

One only

I can live

A gift

But one

To be shared.

I think

I finally

Understand.

Why I am cursed

And blessed

In one

Breath.

Return

I run

Back to

The waves

This time

Unlike

The last.

Because I

Am different.

Above

The dark

I soar

I will

Become

A beacon

Of hope

I will

Guide

The lost ones

Home.

I will become

The one I needed most.

My weakness

My faults

My failings

Make me strong.

Tomorrow.

And if tomorrow

I should drown again

I trust

This time

Someone

Perhaps

A man

In a green suit

A woman

In a green dress

A child

With green eyes

Will come

For me

As I did

For one

Like them.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nami Okalu

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.