Poets logo

What's Your Name?

The trauma and the changing of a name

By Sadie Hirsch Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Leave me. Let me go. Don't worry.

Your baby girl, she's gonna be fine

Didn't need anything from you except a dollar and a dime

A dozen years, times two. That's how log I lived without you

The heart of stone trying to teach gold to shine

When you sequestered your own light before I was a twinkle in your eye and never let yourself be a real human on the outside

Living vicariously, my life stolen from me

To become you, the image you saw for yourself but you caged your mind and checked your voice

I have mine, because I put in the time, I opened my wounds

Every single one. Funny, most of them came from you

"Are you seeing the therapist? Talking to someone? Why don't you ever want to come home?"

The audacity of the abuser, to blame the victim, over and over again

Because it was always MY fault you got screwed over

By life, but the last time I checked we adults are supposed to take responsibility, or is that just something you say to brighten your day, make you feel like everything's ok, you're teaching them good you're teaching them right, they'll grow up strong because they grew up without a fight

But when you sucker-punch us in our soul

Steal the spark from our eyes

We grow up knowing, you're the one we actually despise

You're never wrong, it's never your fault, we're never good enough no matter what

How dare I make you accountable when you want your butt in the mud and head in the clouds because blindness and staying where you are is like a pig in ignorant bliss

One day you'll miss us and we'll wave goodbye down the dirt path

Through thickets and thorns, never look back

Because that house you call a home was a borrowed momento, a temporary hold, until we break free of your mortal talons and our life is finally

Our own. And I can make myself whatever I want to be

Never the spitting image, or honor thy mother, father or their name

I don't know what my new name is yet, but luckily in time yours I'll forget

sad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sadie Hirsch

Mystical creative who writes, dreams, dances and sings

Breast Cancer survivor at 35, grateful for each day I'm alive

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.