Poets logo

What's with my brain?

Living each day with ADHD and social anxiety

By Josephine MasonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
16
What's with my brain?
Photo by shen liu on Unsplash

Heart pounding

Mind racing

Too many colors

Too many sounds

Sensory overload

*

Inhale, exhale, exhale wait no

Pull it back under control

Deep breaths to steady me out

Keep the anxiety under control

*

The way people look and stare

I know they're watching me

I probably look ridiculous right now

Standing here fidgeting

*

Trying to hold

Thoughts on my mind

Wait what just glinted

Now it's all gone

Wait I got it back

*

Whose playing music

Oh that's just my mind

*

Now I want to dance

Wait I'm in public

No dancing right now

Wait is someone talking

"Sir what do you want?"

*

Right I came here for food

What was it I wanted

That's right it's in my phone

"Um.. ten chicken nuggets please."

As a person who lives with mild ADHD and prone to fits of anxiety from performing tasks like having to go order food this poem is ripped straight out of my life. I hope you enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. If you did please like, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. Till next time.

social commentary
16

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.