Poets logo

What’s the point?

Too often one may find themselves overthinking what we are. I can relate to this deeply.

By Invader Zim Published 3 months ago 2 min read
Like

If push comes to shove

And perhaps I completely shatter

All across the earth

Fragments of me strewn about

Would the world feel any lighter?

Without me in it?

The answer seems clear

Impactful to some but not all

Most would believe

Once that time comes, a grand exit awaits

I used to think that was true

Until closed doors became coffins

Maybe all we have is truly this time together now

Though timelines don’t match up that way

If I could live long enough for you both I would

I’d be there through it all but life never works that way

If it did they’d still be here too

So, so many of us would have returned for our lost loves and lives

But life doesn’t work that way

Death doesn’t work that way

We have the time we have, with one another and with ourselves

And if I were to completely shatter across the universe, well who would ever know?

Would it even matter?

Of course it would

For all of us

Maybe if instead of measuring time at all

I just want to relish in this moment as I know better

Someday I will miss it

Every little aspect of what my life is right now

My friends and every fortunate moment

Not only that but what a blessing for health

Being able to walk and run

I adore that my vision is clear enough to admire the art of others’ creations and just others as themselves

A sense of hearing which allows me to hear the best piano music

It musn’t be forgotten how amazing being human is

We make music that inspires us to dance for generations following one another

We cultivate cuisine with such uniqueness in each dish

Our art is impeccable

Literature is absolutely wondrous

How incredible it is to be exactly what we are right now

To remember all we have ever been and will be

Even when I’m gone, scattered across the universe

Perhaps what’s left behind from our lives is our essence

How well we lived

How true we were to ourselves and those we deemed lovable

What did love mean to us?

What did it invoke us to create or destroy about ourselves?

I wonder so often in what feels like a thousand different ways

If purpose is to be essential as a drive to what living feels like

I think it is

But purpose is whatever we want it to be, it can change and realign as we do

Through countless phases of our lives, will be a ripple of change

We cannot stop what life will allow to unfold before us

There will always be darkness and fear

After one challenge another will await and that is something that can be counted on

Life has its peaceful moments despite all else it may be

It is immeasurable the kindnesses and shared joy of other human beings that I have been able to meet in this life

This world does love you and feel a mutual gratitude for you to be in it

It appreciates us as much as we allow ourselves to see what appreciating it in turn can grant the life we all share

Words and experiences, especially those shared are very powerful

We are magic walking, talking, breathing life back into what’s taken from us

Just in different ways that we never had sought out before

We are meant to simply live, if we so choose to

Gratitude
Like

About the Creator

Invader Zim

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.