Poets logo

What's That Smell

RED TIDE

By Rose RosalesPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
What's That Smell
Photo by Meritt Thomas on Unsplash

Do you remember the first car you got for me when I was in high school? It was a Monte Carlo. I remember thinking that it looked like something an old lady might drive. Boy was I wrong after my first ride I knew that my car and I were destined for each other. I know you told me that I was to only drive to school and back. I had promised that I would, but something or someone convinced me otherwise even though I remember there were consequences if I didn't follow the rules you had given me. If at any point I used the car for any other reason than for school, you would send my car back to the car dealership, so easy set of rules to follow, I thought. We´ll somehow I let my friends talk me into taking her for a joyride one night. We will be back before she even notices that you´re gone my best friend says reassuring me. I remember getting to Padre Island and just punching the gas making all kinds of doughnuts in the sand. Yes, we were drinking some but I was driving and I made sure not to get drunk. That was my way of stating that there´s no defiance here. In all the fun, the laughter, and beer drinking I somehow lost control of the wheel and hit a dune. Holy shit I fucked up now is what went through my mind and out my mouth. We all got out to see the damage that I made to the car. I sure did pray to any gods at that time. Hear me he did there was no damage to the car. All we had to do was clean the sand out of the car and close the trunk. As hard as we hit that damn sand the trunk opening is all that really happened, after all, it was just sand. It took the rest of the night to clean the car but I had it back in the garage with an hour to spare. Everything was as it should be or so I thought. Never in a million years would I have guessed what happens next. Now you know how the fish got into the trunk, mom. I remember the confused look on your face when my uncle told you it was a fish that was stinking up the garage in the trunk of the car added to your confused look. My only regret in all this mom is that I´m telling you the truth finaly but your not here to hear it no matter how loud I scream it. I miss you ,Mom.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rose Rosales

My life could have been less hard knocks, but would it have been boring? All the obstacles,trials, and tragedies are probably what kept me going. Every time I was knocked down, I got back up. I didn't allow them to break me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.