Poets logo

What Once Was

short collection of 11 poems

By Regan SaulsburyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
3

Actions speak louder than words

I’ve changed

I believe you

I’ll be better for you

I believe you

It won’t happen again

I want to believe you

Never settle

You created this never-ending cycle of pain.

A never-ending cycle of loss, heartache, jealousy, hatred.

Yet I let it happen. Why?

Maybe I found comfort in the cycle.

Maybe I was purposely ignoring the deceitfulness and lies.

Maybe I didn’t think I deserved good things to happen to me.

Don't Change For Anyone

How did it go from

You brought out sides of me I didn’t know I had.

You turned me into a person I didn’t know I could be.

To

You brought out a side of me I never want to see again.

You turned me into a person I never want to be again.

Why?

I sat there crying and wondering

Why me?

Why did you have to choose me?

Old to New

I held onto who you used to be

I mourned the old you

Old you wouldn’t have done this to me

Old you loved me

New you chose someone else

New you never loved me

The Story of Us

Strangers

Acquaintances

Friends

Best friends

Lovers

Enemies

Strangers

Sometimes our path ends where it started.

Closure

It’s okay to miss them

I sometimes find myself feeling guilty I do

But I remind myself

They’re not a bad person

They’re a bad person for you

Find closure in that.

Everything

How could I possibly let you go?

I gave you my everything

Everything I ever was

Everything I had

Everything.

I lost myself in you

Realizing

I always thought

I was the one who wasn’t good enough

Because you left me

But it’s the opposite.

You left me because

I was more than enough

I was everything you weren’t

Answers

You came into my life when I least expected it

You left my life when I least expected it

Maybe you were just a lesson

Maybe you were meant to only be a memory

Forgiveness

After all the hurt

After all the tears

After all the broken promises

A part of me forgives you

Not for what you did

Not for what you didn't do

Not for the way you made me feel

I forgive you for the way you couldn’t make me feel

I truly never needed you

I never needed more

I never needed you to love me

But that doesn’t mean I didn’t want it

You didn’t deserve me

You didn’t deserve my love

You sure as hell don’t deserve my forgiveness

But here we are

Forgiving to forget.

sad poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Regan Saulsbury

Hi I'm Regan! I'm 20 years old and use writing as an escape from reality. It's my safe place and I hope my words mean something to you, just as much as they mean something to me:)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazmin Fernandezabout a year ago

    Awesome, I love this thanks for sharing. Peace

  • Chloe Gilholyabout a year ago

    My favourite out of all of these is the strangers one. Great stuff here.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.