Poets logo

What it Is,

Is What it's not..

By Victor MendezPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
What it Is,
Photo by Lee Campbell on Unsplash

It's not your beauty,

It's not your smile,

It's not the smooth sashay of your hips,

Nor the coolness of your lips,

Which makes me beg you stay another while.

It's not the curve of your face,

Nor the lil small trace...

Of a smirk.

It's not the sun's highlights in your hair,

Nor your beautiful voice

That makes me care.

It's not your soul so deep,

Even the oceans can't keep...

All your secrets.

It's not that the rain goes away,

Unless you ask it to stay,

It's not cuz you're ordinary..YET..

Wondrous at the same time.

It's not the way that you talk,

Or the way that you laugh

That keeps me coming back.

It's not that you slow down time,

Cuz you're so devine.

It's not that you leave me speechless

Like a dog howling at the moon,

When I wish I'd a voice,

Made to sing, made to croon.

There are so many things that it's not!!

WHAT it is,

Is a song that I hear,

Whenever you come near,

It's a song made for two,

Only just me and you,

As I laugh at my friends cuz they think that I'm crazy,

They in turn laugh at me when you're walking nearby cuz..

I get distant and hazy

As I hear that sweet melody

When your eyes look at me!

HAVE AN AWESOME DAY, MY FRIENDS!!

love poems
1

About the Creator

Victor Mendez

Born in 1958.There's a lot of road beneath these feet.Worn out pairs upon pairs of shoes.Been a ranch kid,a city kid,a Marine,a dad, a grandfather now,an avid reader and just recently began writing poetry in 2015 just to vent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.