Poets logo

Ask Me in June

if i hate you

By Moharif YuliantoPublished 13 days ago 2 min read
1
Ask Me in June
Photo by Markos Mant on Unsplash

June arrives, a blushing, fragrant bride,

In gown of emerald, hemmed with flowers wide.

The sun, a playful friend, with warmth that teases,

Kisses the earth, awakens slumbering breezes.

Ask me in June, when roses first unfurl,

Their crimson petals, a promise to the world.

Ask me in June, with honeysuckle's sweet embrace,

And butterflies that dance with joyful pace.

Ask me then, of meadows, green and vast,

Where daisies peek, and dandelions cast

Their fluffy seeds upon the gentle breeze,

Whispering of journeys on unseen seas.

Ask me of sun-drenched skin and laughter bright,

Days stretching long, filled with golden light.

Ask me of lazy afternoons beneath a shade,

Books devoured, with dreams and stories laid.

Ask me of fireflies, first sparks in twilight's hush,

Their tiny lanterns, a silent, shimmering rush.

Ask me of evenings, spent with loved ones near,

Sharing stories, as fireflies disappear.

Ask me not of winter's biting cold,

Nor the rain that falls, with stories yet untold.

Ask me not of burdens, or the daily fight,

Ask me in June, where burdens take flight.

Ask me then, of beginnings, fresh and new,

Of gardens bursting forth, vibrant hues.

Ask me of adventures, planned with care,

Barefoot on warm grass, with worries laid bare.

Ask me of strawberries, plump and red,

Staining fingers with a sweet, delicious spread.

Ask me of lemonade, icy cool and tart,

Quenching summer thirst, a refreshing start.

Ask me of sunsets, painting skies ablaze,

With streaks of orange, rose, and lavender haze.

Ask me of fireflies, blinking in the night,

Ask me in June, where dreams take vibrant flight.

Ask me not of deadlines, or the bills to pay,

Ask me not of darkness, far, far away.

Ask me in June, while life feels young and free,

Ask me then, and I will share my heart with thee.

Elegy
1

About the Creator

Moharif Yulianto

a freelance writer and thesis preparation in his country, youtube content creator, facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake12 days ago

    The image is well matched with the poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.