Poets logo

What is love?

Night thoughts

By Joy Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
What is love?
Photo by Sarah Youthed on Unsplash

As I lay my head down on my pillow my thoughts start to drift away as if I'm in a haze

You see I messed up... bad... I fell in love with another man

and to most that sounds like a dream but for me its agony

Yet I fell hard.. Sunk right into his arms

his deep brown eyes making me feel paralyzed

But I've been down this rocky road and know what it feels like to be alone

Then again maybe this time will be different or maybe I should try

as I feel my eyes start to be dry I cant help but think of all the lies

"I'll never hurt you" "I'll never leave" "You're the only one for me"

I laugh to myself for being so ignorant

I've been used, abused and abandoned by men who promised to be consistent

consistent they were but at all the wrongs things and I promised myself to never again be unseen

Would I regret not giving him a try or would my life be broken by another guy

As I stare at the wall under my blankets I can't help but think maybe this isn't love after all

I turn in my bed with all my thoughts let lose in my head, drifting away without any dread

I start to drift away peacefully knowing at the very end, love is an emotion that can't be tamed

But I have full control of the men I let play this love game

I unintentionally smile because I fell in love again and that's the real shame

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Joy

Writing a scary short stories to espace reality

What’s your reason for reading them?

Dreaming of being an author and love any support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.