Poets logo

What is it with people suddenly 'liking' stories and not commenting.

What is the point? What is this lethargy which is settling like a dark cloud over us all. Or maybe it's just me.

By Novel AllenPublished about a month ago 1 min read
What is it with people suddenly 'liking' stories and not commenting.
Photo by George Pagan III on Unsplash

I read your story today

Liked it a lot actually

I will not however, bother to comment

Kinda' like I have better ones to go read

Excuse me while I light my spliff (weed)

Your

Story

Very

Much

But not enough to leave a comment or to garner you the coveted ha'penny (thanks again Hannah) which Vocal pays for your inner thoughts

Leaving you guessing on whether or not I actually read the dang story, or if I am just patronizing you with a lovely like.

I do read for read or I just read. I do not, however, do read for 'like's.

I am aware that I could read more, so could everyone, we do the best we can

I'm sorry if you feel offended!!!

Welcome to my world!!!

But I comment on all that I read. Even the AI ones. So disconcerting, the inability to return a read. Cause I am just not going searching for your name. Thank you anyway for the 'like'.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Read as a Quasi-Acrostic downwards...I may have just invented a new poetry style.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Exclusively Speaking with Love'Nia Renee 6 days ago

    Yes I'm absolutely with you with this one!! 💯👍

  • Just to let you know this is a Raise Your Voice nomination by me

  • Joe O’Connor29 days ago

    It would be ironic to like this, and not leave a comment😄 It’s a time thing I think for a lot of people, and then probably some think that by “like-bombing” a bunch of stories they’ll get those authors to read their own material. Which is a shame but 🤷🏽‍♂️

  • I never just like, I always comment so that people know I've been there and also repeat the comment on Facebook. The thing is I think a lot of people just heart and drop out, so it doesnt count as a read. I have lots of stories with about 80% more hearts than reads

  • Thavien Yliaster30 days ago

    Yeah, I noticed that more with some people than others as of recent these days. Lowkey, I was expecting You to drop a few names. Still, I like to give people the benefit of the doubt that their life is their own and I am not entitled to anything from them.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    I have the opposite problem in that I usually comment but very rarely remember the like button exists!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    I always commit in everything that I read. I can't ever not comment.

  • ROCK about a month ago

    I often run out of genuine, meaningful comments and do not want to lay a " great job" on someone who deserves more. I often like and go back to read when I don't have much mental energy. I appreciate your candor.

  • Donna Reneeabout a month ago

    I see your point! It’s funny because that’s exactly why I go “liking” and not commenting sometimes. Maybe because I’m socially burnt out, or if I just don’t want the author to feel like they need to reciprocate, especially if I haven’t written anything new lately or haven’t been around much. A “like” is like a little wave to the author after I read. 😬🤣

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    Please shoot me down now! 💥 I did this to you just a week or so ago. Hah, Quasi acrostic! 😅 I sometimes like things if I don’t have much to say or am on the go. I rarely do it to friends, sorry. People do it to me often. It’s not my preferred way of reading obviously. I try not to take it personally as everyone ‘interacts’ differently for different reasons! I also haven’t been well the last week but am happy to read a couple of your pieces and comment now!

  • Jay Kantorabout a month ago

    Dear Novel ~ "Dang" interesting perspective: Perhaps many are "Spliff"~Stoner commentators? Especially now that our Gov't is making it simply an over-the-counter, non drug, now being sold in a SnackBar near you. Some, as was said, think it's already been covered by others; so why bother. But, if I may add: People just pick out what might be interesting to them; or only relate to certain genres' never to venture out of their 'Gens' pond for fear of not being a group player; or only interested in certain communities. Ick, don't care what that silly Gramps has to say..! Readers just tire of us sometimes; they feel they know what we're going to say after a while: You don't even read me; but, I know you still like me, "Probably."  Personally, I find it odd that readers may be annoyed with my goop because I do write and lead into my silly stories with my drawings that may be very personal to me - but not to other generations; I SO get that. I'm not very Colorful. I write to archive 'For our Kids Someday.' We all have our agendas. It's just me being me; for better or worse. But, as our Mrs. Judey might say. No one is everything to someone; not everyone's going to like me. But, as she's said, sometimes the best comment is no comment at all. Novel, no one in the VillageBucket wants to ruffle any feathers; they may go up in 'SpliffSmoke.' Sorry, that's my opinion and I'm sticking to it. If I've taken up too much room..I will delete. I've always been a huge fan of yours. Who you with saying it is as it is...! J.in.l.a.

  • Sorry… I don’t always comment because others have often said it way better than I could… or I just can’t formulate a decent comment, despite how well deserved it is🥺. Valid point though.

  • Kendall Defoe about a month ago

    We can't always leave a lengthy comment on everything we read. I do appreciate it when people point out what they like, but I don't always have time to sit back and meditate on my thoughts... But I will try...

  • Mother Combsabout a month ago

    I've been liking more than commenting here lately because I'm not feeling 100% just yet.

  • Judey Kalchik about a month ago

    Quasi-Crostic it is! I do, sometimes, like without comment if I have nothing positive to say. (Old teaching dies slowly) That doesn’t often happen, but I’ve done it

Novel AllenWritten by Novel Allen

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.