Poets logo

What is Home?

They say that you become an adult as soon as your parents are no more.

By Lubow Dabrowska-SzpakowiczPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

What is home?

Just people and places?

What is home?

Just familiar faces?

What is home?

Just feeling protected?

What is home?

Just feeling respected?

It is where stockings for Christmas

Are hanging, full of surprises.

It is where boxes with presents

Are hidden, waiting for birthdays.

It is where a fireplace

Is warming you.

It is where fairy tales

Are lulling you.

It is where your mum

Combs and plaits your hair.

It is where your dad

Shows how to repair.

It is where you are taught

What love and care.

It is where you learn

How they can be shared.

It is where no tears.

Only hugs and kisses.

It is where no fears.

Only laughs and blisses.

But where is it now?

The house is empty with a sign “For Sale”.

But where are they now?

Not here or there. I hope in heaven.

What am I now?

A bird with the broken wings.

What am I now?

A guitar without its strings.

Right now I am a home…

Right now I plait and comb…

Right now I hug and kiss

Right now I am a bliss.

Right now I know…

It’s not just people and places.

Right now I know…

It’s not just familiar faces.

Right now I know…

It’s not just feeling protected.

Right now I know…

It’s not just feeling respected.

So what is home?..

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lubow Dabrowska-Szpakowicz

Firstly, I am a teacher...

Secondly, I am an artist...

I love gardening, photography and psychology...

Gym, swim, travelling and

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.