Poets logo

What is home to me, you ask

A poem of what home means to me

By Keira WattusPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
What is home to me, you ask
Photo by Gian D. on Unsplash

Home, to me, is not one person nor place

Home is a feeling - home is safe

Home is my fingers clanking on keys as I write

Home is sitting with my family watching movies all night

Home is the weekends spent with friends I love dearly

Without them, my mind would not function so clearly

Home is the chilled morning air on my face, walking in nature at a leisurely pace

Home is losing myself in books and forgetting the time and “oh man, I have to cook!”

Home is looking in the mirror with pride

Home are the words I whisper to remind myself I do not need to hide

I am strong I am worthy

I am beautiful I am brave

Home is the wishes I make to the moon

Home is the kiss of the sun after noon

Home is the tattoos sketched across my skin

The expression of self embedded deeply within

Home is the place my soul feels free, not bound by people or places or things you can see

I can be home anywhere I please

That choice is always up to me

For I bring home with me wherever I go

My body my heart my fingers my toes

Even when I’m just stardust in the extensive cosmos

Home will always be me and I will always be home

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Keira Wattus

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.